Skip to Content
Buchan

Our studios

Search

Global thinkers
driving positive impact

Our people

Buchan is a global team of design experts. Inherently creative and curious, we enable collective knowledge and experience to create dynamic places that thrive.

Our culture is shaped and led by our people. We empower our people to design a brighter, more sustainable future that influences life in our cities for the benefit of people and the planet.

Aleksander Borek

Aleksander Borek

Senior Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

aleksander.borek@buchan.au

Alessandro Paladin

Alessandro Paladin

Associate


Perth
Whadjuk Noongar Country

alessandro.paladin@buchan.au

Ana-Maria Hoaghia

Ana-Maria Hoaghia


Andre Jones
image description

Andre Jones

Director + Principal


Perth
Whadjuk Noongar Country

andre.jones@buchan.au

Andrew Mackenzie

Andrew Mackenzie

Principal


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

andrew.mackenzie@buchan.au

Anthony Palamara

Anthony Palamara

Principal


Sydney
Gadigal Country

anthony.palamara@buchan.au

Arno Pieters

Arno Pieters

Senior Associate


Auckland

arno.pieters@buchan.nz

Ashley Sheppard

Ashley Sheppard

Principal


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

ashley.sheppard@buchan.au

Barry Neocleous

Barry Neocleous

Senior Associate


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

barry.neocleous@buchan.au

Bradley Hunting

Bradley Hunting

Associate


Christchurch

bradley.hunting@buchan.nz

Branislav Vasic

Branislav Vasic

Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

branislav.vasic@buchan.au

Bridget Elliott

Bridget Elliott


Brittany Miller

Brittany Miller


Bruce Shaw

Bruce Shaw

Director + Principal


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

bruce.shaw@buchan.au

Callum Knox

Callum Knox

Head of Information Technology


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

callum.knox@buchan.au

Carol Leung

Carol Leung

Associate


Sydney
Gadigal Country

carol.leung@buchan.au

Clinton Jasmin

Clinton Jasmin

Senior Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

clinton.jasmin@buchan.au

Daren Alderson

Daren Alderson

Senior Associate


Christchurch

daren.alderson@buchan.nz

David Forbes

David Forbes

Principal


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

david.forbes@buchan.au

Dong Uong

Dong Uong

Senior Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Land

dong.uong@buchan.au

Edward Armstrong

Edward Armstrong

Senior Associate


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

edward.armstrong@buchan.au

Elisa Gagliardi

Elisa Gagliardi

Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

elisa.gagliardi@buchan.au

Elisa Nakano

Elisa Nakano

Senior Associate


Sydney
Gadigal Country

elisa.nakano@buchan.au

Frank Zipfinger

Frank Zipfinger

Chairman


Sydney
Gadigal Country

frank.zipfinger@buchan.au

George Karapouloutidis

George Karapouloutidis

Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

george.karapouloutidis@buchan.au

Grant Withers

Grant Withers

Principal


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

grant.withers@buchan.au

Greg Cochrane

Greg Cochrane

Senior Associate


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

greg.cochrane@buchan.au

Greg Sheehan

Greg Sheehan

Principal


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

greg.sheehan@buchan.au

Harvey Male

Harvey Male

Principal, Sector Lead - Living


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

harvey.male@buchan.au

Hayden Djakic

Hayden Djakic

Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

hayden.djakic@buchan.au

Heela Arsala

Heela Arsala

Head of Legal


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

heela.arsala@buchan.au

Isobel Harding

Isobel Harding


John McCrystal

John McCrystal

Senior Associate


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

john.mccrystal@buchan.au

Katherine Cammuso

Katherine Cammuso

Marketing + Communications Lead


katherine.cammuso@buchan.au

Laraine Sperling

Laraine Sperling

Head of Strategy and Marketing


Sydney
Gadigal Country

laraine.sperling@buchan.au

Leanda Chia

Leanda Chia

Client and New Business Lead


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi-Wurrung Land

leanda.chia@buchan.au

Lynn Van Dievoort

Lynn Van Dievoort

Senior Associate


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

lynn.vandievoort@buchan.au

Malou Ellis

Malou Ellis

Senior Associate


Sydney
Gadigal Country

malou.ellis@buchan.au

Marc Flipo

Marc Flipo

Company Secretary


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

marc.flipo@buchan.au

Marcin Zugaj

Marcin Zugaj

Senior Associate


Sydney
Gadigal Country

marcin.zugaj@buchan.au

Marcus Chan

Marcus Chan

Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

marcus.chan@buchan.au

Matthew Munn

Matthew Munn

Senior Associate


Auckland

matthew.munn@buchan.nz

Monika Krncevic

Monika Krncevic


Nataly Ernst

Nataly Ernst

Senior Associate


Sydney
Gadigal Country

nataly.ernst@buchan.au

Neville Wilson

Neville Wilson

Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

neville.wilson@buchan.au

Nick Rae

Nick Rae

Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

nick.rae@buchan.au

Paul Watson

Paul Watson

Senior Associate


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

paul.watson@buchan.au

Peter Haswell

Peter Haswell

Associate


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

peter.haswell@buchan.au

Phil Schoutrop

Phil Schoutrop

Director + Principal
Sector Lead - Precincts


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

phil.schoutrop@buchan.au

Raylene McEwan

Raylene McEwan

Director + Principal


Christchurch

raylene.mcewan@buchan.nz

Rob Guild

Rob Guild

Principal


Auckland

rob.guild@buchan.nz

Robert Baxter

Robert Baxter

Associate


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

rob.baxter@buchan.au

Sandra Stewart

Sandra Stewart

Principal, Sector Lead - Health


Sydney
Gadigal Country

sandra.stewart@buchan.au

Sara Burke

Sara Burke

Chief Financial Officer


Brisbane
Turrbal and Yuggera Country

sara.burke@buchan.au

Scott Inverarity

Scott Inverarity

Senior Associate


Auckland

scott.inverarity@buchan.nz

Simon Gregory

Simon Gregory

Principal


Melbourne
Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Country

simon.gregory@buchan.au

Stephen Auld

Stephen Auld

Chief Executive Officer


Sydney
Gadigal Country

stephen.auld@buchan.au

Vincent Chi

Vincent Chi

Associate


Perth
Whadjuk Noongar Country

vincent.chi@buchan.au

Yasmin Lee

Yasmin Lee

Director


sdagadfgsdfgs

yasmin.lee@buchan.au

Our guiding principles

Our core values express who we are and what we stand for – we are creative, visionary, leaders, resilient and impactful.

Our Values


Creativity
Free thinking and expression to find new, innovative and exciting design solutions.

Vision
Thinking about the future and how we can improve it, today.

Leadership
Being brave and taking action to make people’s lives and the planet better.

Resilience
Going the extra step, pushing the boundaries to realise our full potential.

Positive Impact
Taking the opportunity to create a positive impact.

Our Culture

We foster a vibrant studio culture that encourages and promotes creative expression and collaboration.

Our people are central to our continuing evolution as a global design practice. Driven by our core values we are creative and resilient. We provide opportunities to push the boundaries to realise every individual’s full potential.

Our leadership and vision gives our people the opportunity to create a positive impact.

Grow with us

We encourage continuous learning and development through a range of initiatives designed to support our people at every stage of their career.

We encourage creativity and curiosity in our Graduates. Our Graduate Program is designed as a valuable bridge between formal education and working ​​​​​​​life, equipping future leaders of our business with the tools, skills and experience for success, and provide a supportive environment following a pathway to Registration as an Architect.

We encourage all staff to join our mentoring program as a way to share knowledge, expand professional networks and gain new skills that support your career goals and aspirations.

We encourage continuous learning and development through our internal Professional Practice and Critical Skills training program and yearly training subsidy for self-directed professional development.

Aligned with our business plan for succession, our Leadership Program identifies, prepares and develops the future cohort to enter into leadership positions.

Aligned with our Performance Framework for Principals, our pathway program prepares and develops this future cohort to leader and business owner.

Our alliance with Japanese architectural and urban design firm, Nikken Sekkei builds on our global connections. Our international secondment program offers the rare opportunity to live and work overseas supported by Buchan.

We actively encourage our people to broaden their lived experience at Buchan through our 'open studio' policy.

In addition to inter-studio travel for project collaborations, we support staff with flexibility to combine personal travel and work in any of our studios. Inter-studio transfers are also considered.

What our graduates say

 

“I came up through the Buchan Graduate Program and was fortunate enough to undertake a secondment with Nikken Sekkei in Tokyo, Japan. Being able to travel, work and live in another culture has been one of the richest experiences of my career.

I had the opportunity to work on domestic and international projects while in Japan, learning from colleagues the importance of good design from a different cultural perspective. The simplicity of Japanese sensibilities has become part of how I approach my project work and will continue to shape my design process.” – William Perkin

 


“We are actively encouraged to take control of our own careers, to grow, and to challenge ourselves. As an Architectural Graduate pursuing my Registration, I valued the weekly mentoring sessions that helped me with concerns or gaps on my pathway to successful Registration!”
– Anu Chembrolu

 

 

 

At Buchan, we encourage individual voices, and are building a workplace culture that champions equity, diversity and inclusion. This enables true design innovation, underpinned by our shared vision and values.

We are always looking to hear from talented people to join our team.

View current job opportunities here.